4 Places to Visit in L.A. After You Read Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer

Discussion, Young Adult Books
Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer. A contemporary young adult romance novel about three siblings and their unforgettable road trip around Los Angeles, California. Romance novels for teens, YA romance books, YA books to read at Christmas, young adult books to read during winter break, road trip romance novels for teens, young adult romances for teenage girls. | batchofbooks.com

I recently finished reading Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer and couldn’t help but think about all the fun sights to see in Los Angeles, California.

In the story, Flynn and Amos are step-siblings and Poppy is their younger sister. The three of them are on their way to meet their parents for a vacation. During their layover in L.A. however, Poppy spills the beans that their parents are getting divorced.

In a misguided attempt to avoid the “talk” with their parents, the three kids decide to bail on their connecting flight. Instead, they toss their phones in the trash and head out into the city for three unforgettable days together.

Here are four places the characters visit in Layover that will make you want to visit Los Angeles.

As always, this blog post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase after clicking on one of my links, I’ll receive a small commission.

1. Los Angeles County Museum of Art

This is the second stop the characters make in the book after ditching their flight. Even though they only make a quick photo-taking stop at the museum in the book, it’s a destination that’s definitely worth seeing if you get the chance.

2. Hollywood

In Layover, Poppy is much younger than Flynn and Amos and she’s obsessed with old movies. Of course, one of the things she wants to see most is the iconic Hollywood sign. Getting a picture with the sign in the background not only makes for a fun Instagram post but is a right of passage when you visit L.A.

3. The Beach

There’s nothing quite like the ocean.

In the book, the kids stay at a friend’s house right on the beach. While we don’t all have gazillionaire friends living in enormous beach houses, there are plenty of public beaches in Southern California worth the visit.

Layover will have you planning a beach trip before the book is over.

4. Disneyland

You can’t mention L.A. without talking about Disneyland. Of course, one of the “bucket list” items that Flynn, Amos, and Poppy want to do is visit the happiest place on earth. While the park is filled with fun, it also holds a few surprises for the trio and is a pivotal turning point in the story.

But then, we all know Disneyland is a magical place.

 

Want to Read Layover?

Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer. A contemporary young adult romance novel about three siblings and their unforgettable road trip around Los Angeles, California. Romance novels for teens, YA romance books, YA books to read at Christmas, young adult books to read during winter break, road trip romance novels for teens, young adult romances for teenage girls. | batchofbooks.com

Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer

Age Range: 14+ | Hardcover: 272 pages | Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers (February 6, 2018)

Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository

 

Book Description

Fans of Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things and Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone will get caught up in the drama of this road trip romance that begins with an unplanned flight layover in L.A. and turns into a wild adventure.

FLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever since I moved to New York, Amos was the one person I could count on. And together we were there for Poppy. (I mean, what kind of parents leave their kid to be raised by a nanny?) I just didn’t expect to fall for him–and I never expected him to leave us.

AMOS: I thought I was the only one who felt it. I told myself it was because we were spending so much time together–taking care of Poppy and all. But that night, I could tell she felt it, too. And I freaked out–you’re not supposed to fall for your stepsister. So I ran away to boarding school. I should have told her why I was leaving, but every time I tried, it felt like a lie.

One missed flight was about to change their lives forever. . . .

Perfect for fans of Clueless and brought to you by two Hollywood screenwriters, this wild journey of unlikely romance, heartbreak, and adventure–set against the backdrop of a blended family in free fall during a rebellious layover in Los Angeles–reveals the true value of the unbreakable bonds we forge when we dare to let ourselves risk it all.

 

Looking for More YA Books?
Check out all my recent YA reviews and roundups. Then, sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, book lists, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Previous Story
Next Story

2 Comments

  • Reply
    karaterzis
    January 30, 2018 at 11:21 am

    Ohhh, I’d LOVE to go to LA one day. Or anywhere in America, honestly! SO much of the fiction I read is either set there, or written by authors who live there, so it would be super-amazing. I’d love to visit the beaches in California, too, because everyone always RAVES about them…but then again, I do live on the coast of Australia, and we have some gorgeous beaches here. ❤ Super excited to check this book out!

    • Reply
      Dena at Batch of Books
      January 31, 2018 at 2:19 pm

      I’d love to visit Australia someday. Hopefully, we’ll both get our travel wishes!

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: