Middle Grade Review: The Case of the Missing Marquess, An Enola Holmes Mystery


The Case of the Missing Marquess, An Enola Holmes Mystery by Nancy Springer

Age Range: 8 and up

Paperback: 240 pages

Publisher: Puffin; Reprint edition (November 8, 2007)

Series: Enola Holmes Mysteries #1

Genre: Mystery, Historical Fiction

Source: Library

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book:

When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers
her mother has disappeared, she quickly embarks on a journey to London
in search of her. But nothing can prepare her for what awaits. Because
when she arrives, she finds herself involved in the kidnapping of a
young marquess, fleeing murderous villains, and trying to elude her
shrewd older brothers—all while attempting to piece together clues to
her mother’s strange disappearance. Amid all the mayhem, will Enola be
able to decode the necessary clues and find her mother?

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble

About the Author:

 Nancy Springer has passed the
fifty-book milestone, having written that many novels for adults, young
adults and children, in genres including mythic fantasy, contemporary
fiction, magical realism, horror, and mystery — although she did not
realize she wrote mystery until she won the Edgar Allan Poe Award from
the Mystery Writers of America two years in succession. DARK LIE,
recently released from NAL, is her first venture into mass-market
psychological suspense.
Born in Montclair, New Jersey, Nancy
Springer moved with her family to Gettysburg, of Civil War fame, when
she was thirteen. She spent the next forty-six years in Pennsylvania,
raising two children (Jonathan, now 38, and Nora, 34), writing,
horseback riding, fishing, and birdwatching. In 2007 she surprised her
friends and herself by moving with her second husband to an isolated
area of the Florida panhandle, where the birdwatching is spectacular and
where, when fishing, she occasionally catches an alligator.

Website | Facebook

My Thoughts:

I have discovered the wonderful world of juvenile mystery novels. The
Case of the Missing Marquess
is the first book in the Enola Holmes
Mystery series.  I adored this book! It is full of adventure, problem
solving, and interesting characters. Enola herself is a strong young
lady that is a great heroine to read about. She is smart and independent
and not afraid to get her hands dirty.

I love the inclusion of Sherlock Holmes in the story and the way Enola
both admires and despises her famous older brother. It is very cleverly

Content: Clean  

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: