halloween skull shirts for girls

Dev Petty’s New Book Celebrates Boredom

Book Review, Picture Books
There's Nothing to Do by Dev Petty, illustrated by Mike Boldt. A cute and funny picture book about boredom and finding joy in the small things. Sometimes the best days are those when you have nothing to do. Picture books about creativity. Picture books about boredom. | batchofbooks.com

There’s Nothing to Do by Dev Petty, illustrated by Mike Boldt

Age Range: 3 – 7 years | Grade Level: Preschool – 2 | Hardcover: 32 pages | Publisher: Doubleday Books for Young Readers (September 19, 2017)

*This blog post contains affiliate links.

About the Book

In the next book in the I Don’t Want to be a Frog series, young Frog learns an unexpected lesson about how NOT to be bored. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back!

Frog is bored. He can’t find ANYTHING to do—even when his animal friends make good suggestions, like sleeping all day, licking between his toes, or hopping around and then staring off into space. Will he find a fun and exciting way to spend his day? Featuring the beloved characters from I Don’t Want to Be a Frog and I Don’t Want to Be Big, this new story is sure to bring a smile to every kid who’s ever said “There’s nothing to do!”

 

Find the Book

There's Nothing to Do by Dev Petty, illustrated by Mike Boldt. A cute and funny picture book about boredom and finding joy in the small things. Sometimes the best days are those when you have nothing to do. Picture books about creativity. Picture books about boredom. | batchofbooks.com

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

 

My Review of There’s Nothing to Do

This is the latest picture book in the I Don’t Want to Be a Frog series for children. I’ve never read the other books, but I’ve seen them around.

There’s Nothing To Do is about boredom (obviously). Frog doesn’t want to do any of his usual activities and he’s not interested in anyone else’s suggestions. With a little encouragement, Frog clears his mind and looks at the beauty around him. Only then does he discover that having nothing to do is a wonderful adventure.

This is a charming story and I love the illustrations. Of course, I especially love the message that sometimes boredom is best. It gives you the chance to appreciate life, nature, and the little things.

There's Nothing to Do by Dev Petty, illustrated by Mike Boldt. A cute and funny picture book about boredom and finding joy in the small things. Sometimes the best days are those when you have nothing to do. Picture books about creativity. Picture books about boredom. | batchofbooks.com

Source: The publisher sent me a copy of this book.

 

Want More Book Recommendations?
Browse for book recommendations by age using the “Books by Age” tab in the top navigation bar. Then, sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, book lists, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Save

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: