The Wizard’s Dog is Perfect for Fans of Harry Potter

Book Review, Middle Grade
The Wizard's Dog by Eric Kahn Gale | Middle grade books about magic. | Books for fans of Harry Potter | Books for kids that like magic | A middle grade magical adventure novel about Merlin, his apprentice, and his trusty, talking dog.

A few years ago, I read The Bully Book by Eric Kahn Gale. Recently, I had the opportunity to read his newest book, The Wizard’s Dog. If you’re looking for a fun, sure-fire win that your kids will love, keep reading because this book was a ton of fun!

The Wizard's Dog by Eric Kahn Gale | Middle grade books about magic. | Books for fans of Harry Potter | Books for kids that like magic | Wizards, magic, adventure | A middle grade magical adventure novel about Merlin, his apprentice, and his trusty, talking dog. | Funny books for kids | batchofbooks.comThis blog post contains affiliate links.

The Wizard’s Dog by Eric Kahn Gale

Age Range: 8 – 12 years | Grade Level: 3 – 7 | Hardcover: 288 pages | Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers (January 17, 2017)

 

What’s the Book About?

This is a retelling of the story of Merlin and how Arthur came into possession of Excalibur—told from a dog’s point of view. Of course, when a dog is narrating a story, there are bound to be tidbits of rabbit chasing, butt sniffing, and door hating. But this book is not a slapstick, laugh yourself silly kind of book. Rather, it’s an story of adventure, magic, and courage with some well-placed moments of humor.

Why I Loved it

Nosewise is the main character of the story, and he’s an excellent narrator. True to the nature of dogs, Nosewise is loyal, energetic, and wants to do everything humans can do (like opening doors). He has an undying devotion to his master, Merlin, and will do anything to help him. Also, he’s a fairly good judge of character; he knows who is trustworthy and who is not.

I loved the adventure in this book. It’s full of fun, friendship, magic, and humor. There’s also betrayal, deception, and trickery.

Why You’ll Love it

The Wizard’s Dog is perfect for fans of Harry Potter. There are wizards, magic, adventure, and plenty of humor between it’s pages. With all-powerful enemies and plots to take over the world, The Wizard’s Dog is an adventure that your kids will adore. They won’t want to put it down.

If you’re looking for a great read-aloud for a road trip, make sure you check this one out. It’s a good read that the whole family will love.

I had a fantastic time reading this book. It’s fun, clean, and just the kind of story my kids will like. I plan on passing this on to my nine-year-old daughter.

Highly recommended for kids ages 8-12!

Cover Love: I love this cover! It gives a wonderful peek into what the book is like. You can see a goofy look on Nosewise’s face and poor Merlin jumping out of the way of his dog’s unpredictable (and sometimes explosive) magic. I don’t know who the illustrator is, but they did a fantastic job of capturing the story.

Content: Action/suspense and some mildly crude humor. Movie rating would be PG.

Source: The author sent me a copy of this book.

 

Get the Book

The Wizard's Dog by Eric Kahn Gale.

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

 

Other Books by Eric Kahn Gale

The Bully Book  The Zoo at the Edge of the World

The Bully Book

The Zoo at the Edge of the World

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: