Lemons: A Book About Change (and Bigfoot)

Book Review, Middle Grade
Lemons by Melissa Savage. A middle grade book about a girl overcoming grief, change, making friends, and searching for Bigfoot.

Lemons by Melissa Savage. A middle grade book about a girl overcoming grief, change, making friends, and searching for Bigfoot.This blog post contains affiliate links.

Lemons by Melissa Savage

Age Range: 8 – 12 years | Grade Level: 3 – 7 | Hardcover: 320 pages | Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers (May 2, 2017)

 

About the Book

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that’s perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw!

Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can’t possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California—the Bigfoot Capital of the World—where she’s forced to live with a grandfather she’s never met after her mother passes away.

Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, they set out on an epic adventure to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film. But along the way, Lem and Tobin end up discovering more than they ever could have imagined. And Lem realizes that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all.

“I love books about feisty girls and nerdy boys. Melissa Savage’s astoundingly good debut novel is packed with humor, mystery, friendship, family secrets, and even Bigfoot! I think you’ll love it, too.” —Karen Cushman, Newbery Medalist for The Midwife’s Apprentice

 

About the Author

Melissa Savage_Credit Jerri Parness Photography

Melissa Savage. Credit Jerri Parness Photography

Melissa D. Savage is a writer and a child and family therapist. Her desire to write purposeful, issue-driven books for young people, coupled with her interest in cryptozoology and the mystery of Bigfoot, inspired her to write Lemons. Melissa lives in Minneapolis. You can follow her on Twitter at @melissadsavage, and visit her at melissadsavage.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find the Book

Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository

 

My Thoughts on Lemons

I don’t know what to say about this book, other than I loved it. It was so freakin’ adorable!

Lemons is about a girl named Lemonade Liberty Witt. Her mother just passed away and a social worker takes her to stay with her grandfather who lives in the Bigfoot capital of the world. She meets a boy named Tobin who’s obsessed with Bigfoot and even started his own “company” to keep track of Bigfoot sightings and collect evidence of Bigfoot’s existence. Lemonade joins Tobin on his expeditions and the two of them spend the summer squabbling, tracking leads, overcoming grief, and growing up.

This book was so much fun to read. Tobin and Lemonade are so different from each other, yet they’re similar in a lot of ways, too. When the two of them are together, it’s always entertaining and funny. Lemonade’s personal journey is wonderful. She goes from being a heartbroken, bitter girl to rediscovering herself and the cheerful, friendly kid she used to be. My favorite part of the book was her relationship with her grandfather. It came about in the sweetest, most natural way and I loved watching the two of them grow together.

This book is a wonderful read and a lovely addition to the growing list of middle-grade books about grief and hope. Highly recommended for kids in the 8-12 age range that enjoy legends, being outdoors, and believing in the impossible.

Content: Clean

Source: Thank you to Random House Children’s Books for sending me an ARC.

5 STARS

 

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Save

Previous Story
Next Story

4 Comments

  • Reply
    Olivia-Savannah
    May 23, 2017 at 3:53 am

    I am glad you could enjoy reading this one so much! The characters make it sound like it’s a lot of fun and just so enjoyable to see them working and fitting together in ways that would seem unlikely, but just work! I love the cover as well 😀

    My recent post: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2017/04/balance-yogi-dragoness.html

    • Reply
      Dena at Batch of Books
      May 23, 2017 at 2:15 pm

      The cover is adorable, right? It was such a fun book and a really great way to address the subject of loss and grief.

  • Reply
    Bloggin' 'bout Books (@bbbforme)
    June 1, 2017 at 9:34 pm

    I loved this one, too. It’s such a sweet, hopeful, well-written novel. And lots of fun to boot!

    I found your blog through the tour. I love it! I’m adding it to my Bloglovin’ list so I can keep up with what you’re reading 🙂

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • Reply
      Dena at Batch of Books
      June 2, 2017 at 10:09 am

      Thanks, Susan! This was such a sweet book, wasn’t it? I just loved it. I loved that it was funny, heartfelt, and adventurous all at the same time.

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: