Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum (YA Review)

Book Review, Young Adult Books
Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. A young adult (YA) novel about change and young love. For teen ages 14-18.

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. A young adult (YA) novel about change and young love. For teen ages 15 and up.This blog post contains affiliate links.

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Age range: 15 and up | Hardcover: 336 pages | Publisher: Delacorte Press (April 5, 2016)

 

About the Book

A New York Times Bestseller

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

 

Find the Book

Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository | Kobo

 

My Thoughts on Tell Me Three Things

Meh, it was okay. It definitely didn’t live up to my expectations. I’d read several raving reviews, so I snagged the ebook when it was on sale for $1.99.

Yes, it’s a cute story. It’s sweet and heartfelt and has a nice conflict the main character has to overcome. Plus, the anonymous messenger is adorable and I loved their conversations over IM.

However, I’m getting tired of grief stories. They’re all the same. And I had the “mystery” figured out by chapter two, so it was anticlimactic when Jessie finally figured it out.

Some things, like Jessie’s relationships with her new stepfamily and her trip back home to Chicago, feel authentic. I like the way Jessie’s voice is convincing and her response to her situation feels real.

Tell Me Three Things is not a bad book. It’s not amazing, but not bad.

Content: Language (including several f-bombs), innuendo, and lots of talk about sex.

Source: I bought this book.

3 STARS

 

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Previous Story
Next Story

2 Comments

  • Reply
    Tressa @ Wishful Endings
    March 24, 2017 at 6:07 pm

    I’m now glad I didn’t grab this one since I’d like to avoid that content. Thanks for the review!

    • Reply
      Dena at Batch of Books
      April 3, 2017 at 12:48 pm

      I know! It was a disappointment, especially since the rest of the book was pretty cute.

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: