The Nethergrim: Fantasy for 10-14 Year Olds

Book Review, Middle Grade, Young Adult Books
The Nethergrim

The Nethergrim

The Nethergrim by Matthew Jobin

 

Age Range: 10 – 12 years | Grade Level: 5 and up | Series: The Nethergrim (Book 1) | Hardcover: 368 pages | Publisher: Philomel Books (April 8, 2014)

 

About the Nethergrim:

The next great fantasy epic is here! For fans of Ranger’s Apprentice and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions. To this day, songs are sung and festivals held in the heroes’ honor. Yet now something dark has crept over the village. First animals disappear, their only remains a pile of bones licked clean. Then something worse: children disappear. The whispers begin quietly yet soon turn into a shout: The Nethergrim has returned!

Edmund’s brother is one of the missing, and Edmund knows he must do something to save his life. But what? Though a student of magic, he struggles to cast even the simplest spell. Still, he and his friends swallow their fear and set out to battle an ancient evil whose powers none of them can imagine. They will need to come together–and work apart–in ways that will test every ounce of resolve.

In a story reminiscent of the Ranger’s Apprentice epic and The Chronicles of Narnia, Matthew Jobin weaves reality, magic, and adventure into the next great fantasy phenomenon.

 

Find the Book:

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

 

Praise:

“Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure.”–Booklist

“Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel.”–BCCB

“First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain.”–Publishers Weekly

 

About the Author:

Matthew Jobin authorA native of Canada, Matthew Jobin holds a Ph.D. in anthropology from Stanford University. He lectures in anthropology at Santa Clara University. The idea for The Nethergrim came to Matthew as a young boy exploring the forest surrounding his home. Intent on telling the story of this fantasy world, he’s been developing it and its inhabitants ever since. Matthew lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his wife, Tina.
For more information visit his website at: http://www.matthewjobin.com.

 

My Thoughts on The Nethergrim:

If you’re looking for the next medieval fantasy series to obsess over, this is it.

According to legend, the greatest hero and greatest wizard of all time defeated the Nethergrim many years ago. But rumors are spreading, animals go missing, and Edmund and his friends have the feeling they’re being watched. Edmund wishes for adventure. Tom hopes for freedom. Katherine dreams of defending her loved ones. Each of their desires come true, but not in a way that any of them could have imagined.

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a medieval fantasy like this. I loved it. It was one of those stories that makes you believe in the goodness of the human race and our desire to thrive, survive, and prevail. It reminded me of so many books I read as a child that stuck with me.

The characters start off as typical adolescent children — full of dreams as wide as the sky but lacking maturity. Each of them grew over the course of the story and became more selfless. They stand together and face their fears as they tackle the challenges that come their way. I love how Katherine’s father shows them respect and treats them like equals. I love how they rise to that expectation.

If you’re looking for a good medieval fantasy for a kids ages 10 and up, The Nethergrim is a good choice. This fast-paced adventure will leave kids (and their parents) wanting more. Thankfully, there is more. The Skeleth just hit bookshelves last month.

Content: violence

Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. This did not affect my thoughts or the content of my review.

5 STARS

Click here to read an excerpt from the newly released The Skeleth.

 

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: