Banished (Forbidden #2): YA Review

Book Review, Young Adult Books
Banished

Banished

Banished (Forbidden Book 2) by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Age range: 14 and up | Series: Forbidden (Book 2) | Hardcover: 416 pages | Publisher: HarperCollins (February 2, 2016)

 

About Banished

Perfect for fans of Cleopatra’s Moon and the adult bestseller The Red Tent, this is the epic sequel to Forbidden, set in the unforgiving deserts of ancient Mesopotamia. Jayden’s courage will be put to the test as she fights for her survival and the one she loves.

Jayden thought she had lost everything. After months of traveling in the desert, she discovers her beloved Kadesh is injured but still alive. However, the two must flee immediately, for the vengeful and jealous Horeb is on their trail, desperate to take Jayden back to be his bride.

The trek to the southern lands comes with heartache and danger, and as Jayden and Kadesh draw closer to their destination, she realizes that even he has been keeping secrets from her . . . ones that will change everything.

Kimberley Griffiths Little’s riveting sequel to Forbidden will leave readers begging for the final installment.

 

About the Author

Kimberley Griffiths LittleWhen I was a kid I read a book a day, scribbled stories, and dreamed about having my very own book on the library shelf. I grew up in San Francisco, but now live in an adobe house on the banks of the Rio Grande with my big, messy family. I think I’ve drunk so much Land of Enchantment water that some of that ancient magic got into my blood and now spurts out my pencil–I mean ergonomic keyboard. I adore anything old and musty with a secret story to tell.

I’m the author of 10 award-winning middle-grade and Young Adult novels with Scholastic and Harpercollins and I make way too many cookies when I’m writing – and I’ve got the best book trailers in the universe. Check them out here: www.kimberleygriffithslittle.com. Please find me on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Youtube.

Awards: Southwest Book Award, Whitney Award for Best Youth Novel, Whitney Award Finalist, Association of Mormon Letters of Art Award, Bank Street College Best Books of 2011, 2013, and 2015, Crystal Kite Finalist, New Mexico Book Award Finalist, and Arizona/New Mexico Young Adult Book Award Winner.

 

Find the Book

Amazon | Goodreads | Kobo | Book Depository

 

My Thoughts on Banished

I read Forbidden last year and loved it. It was a beautiful story in an exotic setting that drew me in. Of course, I wasn’t about to let Banished go unread.

Banished picks up right where Forbidden left off. Since it’s been so long since I read the first book, I was concerned about remembering everything, but for the most part I felt like I got caught up on all the major elements of the story. In Banished, Jayden finds Kadesh (hopefully that’s not a spoiler for anyone; it happens right at the beginning) and together, they make new friends and allies. They start on a journey to Kadesh’s homeland in an effort to avoid and outrun Horeb, who is gathering strength and armies to his cause.

I didn’t love this installment quite as much as the first, but it was still an enjoyable read. I found Jayden to be overly dramatic and occasionally too modern to be believable for her time period. A few other things struck me as unrealistic, but I continued to love the setting and the characters. Kadesh is a wonderful man and I admire his strength and heroism. Jayden is a strong young woman that follows her heart and sticks to her resolve.

While not a perfect book, Banished is a good read and a natural second installment in the story of Jayden and Kadesh. I’m looking forward to reading the final book in the trilogy. I would recommend this series to anyone that enjoys strong female leads and unique historic settings.

Content: Violence and some innuendo

Source: Edelweiss

4 STARS

 

Other Books in the Series:

Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little

 

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Save

Previous Story
Next Story

2 Comments

  • Reply
    Tressa @ Wishful Endings
    April 28, 2016 at 4:17 am

    I need to finish the first book and then just continue with this one. Glad you enjoyed it for the most part. 🙂

    • Reply
      Dena at Batch of Books
      April 28, 2016 at 6:07 pm

      I hope you get the chance to read them. I loved the first book, and this one was good too.

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: