The Vanishing Island by Barry Wolverton

Book Review, Middle Grade, Young Adult Books
The Vanishing Island

The Vanishing Island by Barry Wolverton

Age Range: 8 – 12 years

Grade Level: 3 – 7

Genre: Historical fiction/fantasy

Series: Chronicles of the Black Tulip (Book 1)

Hardcover: 352 pages

Publisher: Walden Pond Press (September 1, 2015)

Source: ARC from publisher

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

About the Book:

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of John Stephens’s the Books of Beginning series.
It’s 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map’s port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere. That’s when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Find it:
Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Kobo 

 

My Thoughts on The Vanishing Island:

Some people have the knack for telling a great story, and Barry Wolverton is one of them. The Vanishing Island reminded me of Pirates of the Caribbean in a lot of ways. I loved it. Fair warning though, it has some pretty scary parts and some violence, so make sure your child can handle it before you give it to them.

This is the first book in a series, so the ending is left open for the next installment, but don’t let that turn you off. Strong characters and a great adventure made this book a riveting tale.

Bren has always wanted adventure, and he soon gets his wish when the charismatic admiral agrees to take him on board his ship. But what starts as an exciting trip soon turns deadly. Bren learns that things are rarely what they seem and people are seldom whom they appear to be.

Content: violence

5 STARS

 

Want to promote your book? Write a guest post!

Previous Story
Next Story

1 Comment

  • Reply
    Best Books I Read in 2015 - Batch of Books
    December 15, 2015 at 7:02 am

    […] The Vanishing Island by Barry Wolverton >> Goodreads […]

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: