Review of Finding the Worm by Mark Goldblatt

Uncategorized

Finding the Worm by Mark Goldblatt

Age Range: 9 – 12 years

Grade Level: 4 – 7

Series: Twerp #2

Genre: Historical fiction

Hardcover: 352 pages

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (February 10, 2015)

Source: from publisher

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

About the Book:

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own–an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss, and friendship. Perfect for fans of The Sandlot and readers who love books by Jennifer L. Holm, Andrew Clements, and Rebecca Stead.

It’s not a test unless you can fail. . . .

Trouble always seems to find thirteen-year-old Julian Twerski. First it was a bullying incident, and now he’s been accused of vandalizing a painting. The principal doesn’t want to suspend him again, so instead, he asks Julian to write a 200-word essay on good citizenship. Julian writes 200 no’s instead, and so begins an epic struggle between Julian and his principal.

Being falsely accused is bad enough, but outside of school, Julian’s dealing with even bigger issues. His friend Quentin has been really sick. How can life be fair when the nicest guy in your group has cancer? Julian’s faith and friendships are put to the test . . . and the stakes have never been higher.

Find it:

My Thoughts:

Mark Goldblatt has written another must-read book for middle grade readers. This companion novel to Twerp stands on its own and will give readers a lot to think about.

Jullian has been blamed for something he didn’t do, but more than that, he’s dealing with a lot of outside things as well. His Bar Mitzvah is coming up and the nicest guy he knows has a tumor on his brain. To top it all off, a girl keeps challenging him to a race. It’s a heartfelt and realistic story about a boy dealing with all the difficulties of becoming a man.

Goldblatt knows how to deal with the heavy issues. In Twerp, he tackled bullying, honesty, and making retribution. In Finding the Worm, he deals with faith, growing up, and illness. Simply put, this book was incredible. It was emotional, honest, and funny.

 Content: clean

5 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: