YA Review of Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Book Review, Young Adult Books

Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little. Historical fiction for young adult readers.

Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Age Range: 14 and up | Grades: 9 and up | Genre: Historical fiction/romance | Hardcover: 400 pages | Publisher: HarperCollins (November 4, 2014) |

 

About Forbidden

A sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia—perfect for fans of Cleopatra’s Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden’s tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden’s turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe’s leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family’s position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden’s heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden’s heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb’s increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden’s every move, she knows she must find a way to escape—or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family’s survival on the line, Jayden must finish the deadly journey to save the ones she loves—and find true love for herself.

 

Daily Boutique Deals

Find the Book

Amazon | Goodreads | Kobo | Book Depository

 

My Thoughts on Forbidden

This book took my breath away. I loved the immersive story and the rich setting of ancient Mesopotamia. The customs, traditions, and beliefs of the desert people were captivating and every time I set the book down I couldn’t wait to pick it up again. I’ve never read anything like this before.

Jayden was a wonderful protagonist and her fears, hopes, and loves were all very real. I easily slipped inside this historical world and experienced everything right alongside Jayden. Kadesh was wonderful, and Horeb was perfectly awful. I loved all the characters!

Forbidden is definitely a book for older YA readers as it has quite a bit of content. I wouldn’t give it to a twelve-year-old, but maybe a fifteen-year-old. As always, I recommend that parents read a book before handing it off to their kids to ensure they are comfortable with the level of content in it.

Content: Innuendo, violence, brief nudity, and an attempted rape.

Source: Edelweiss

5 STARS

 

Stay in the Loop!
Sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, reviews, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.

Save

Save

Previous Story
Next Story

1 Comment

  • Reply
    Banished (Forbidden #2): YA Review - Batch of Books
    March 23, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    […] read Forbidden last year and loved it. It was a beautiful story in an exotic setting that drew me in. Of course, I […]

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: