Review of Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron + FREE prequel!

Uncategorized

Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron

Age Range: 10 and up

Grade Level: 5 and up

Series: Atlantis Saga #1

Paperback: 400 pages

Publisher: Puffin; Reprint edition (September 25, 2014)

Genre: Fantasy

Source: From publisher for review

Daily Boutique Deals

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book:

From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their
land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barron’s Merlin Saga.

Praise for T. A. Barron’s novels:

“Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander

“A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine L’Engle

“Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times

“In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

 


 **Download the prequel for FREE from T. A. Barron’s website! **

My Thoughts:

Promi is a lowly thief who survives by stealing what he needs. But one
day, he goes too far and steals something that gets him thrown into a
dungeon where he learns of a prophecy and an ancient battle. Together
with his new friend Atlanta, he must try to save the world he loves.

This book started out a lot like the Disney version of Aladdin, and I
really liked it. It slowed down considerably in the middle of the book
and it was hard to keep going in some spots, but it picked up again
closer to the end. The writing is very wordy and at times too
descriptive, but it is a well thought out and heartfelt fantasy novel. I
liked the growth that Promi goes through and the friendship he develops
with Atlanta.  I especially liked the ending and the way Promi sacrifices to save his friends and his world.

Kids ages ten and up that like fantasy will enjoy this book. There is no
language and nothing crude in it. There is some violence and a couple
of disturbing scenes, especially in the dungeon, but nothing over the
top.

Content: Some violence and disturbing scenes.

Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

4 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

2 Comments

  • Reply
    Adriana Garcia
    October 13, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    What!? This sounds amazing especially with all those books Atlantis Rising is supposed to be about. I love the cover and everything about it. I'm already sold.
    Oh my goodness Promi's situation sounds like Final Fantasy 12 haha (:
    So they named the city after the girl – Atlanta? I hope they grow up to fall in love with each other. I'm already shipping them.
    Hmm… I understand what you mean by the writing being too descriptive because that's happened to me with another book and it really turned me off. Still this sounds really cool. I really like the idea of following a thief who becomes a hero with his friend.

  • Reply
    March Giveaway: Win Two T.A. Barron Books! - Batch of Books
    March 2, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    […] Atlantis Rising (paperback) and Atlantis in Peril (ARC) by T.A. Barron […]

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: