YA Review of Born of Deception by Teri Brown

Uncategorized

Born of Deception by Teri Brown

Age Range: 12 and up

Series: Born of Illusion #2

Genre: Historical fiction

Print Length: 336 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray (June 10, 2014)

Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Daily Boutique Deals

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book:

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen,
this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a teen
illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the
underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.
Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and
intrigue will fall for Born of Deception and its world of magic set in Jazz Age London.

After
scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van Housen is moving
to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for
people like her with psychic abilities. But when Anna arrives in London,
she finds the group in turmoil—one of its members has been kidnapped,
and members of the society are starting to turn on one another. With her
life in danger and her relationship with her boyfriend, Cole, fizzling,
can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next
victim—or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers?

About the Author:

Teri Brown is most proud of her children, but coming in a close second
is the fact that she jumped out of an airplane and beat the original
Legend of Zelda video game. She is a word scribbler, head banger, math
hater, book reader, food fixer, kitty keeper, and city slicker. Teri
lives with her husband and way too many pets in Portland, Oregon.

My Thoughts:

Once again, I was struck by the unique adventure that Teri Brown created. I loved the characters, the mystery, and the suspense. I also
loved that it was a new situation with a new bad guy, and not simply a
carryover from the first book.

Anna moves to London to join a European tour so she can perform her
magic. She meets new people, makes new friends, and acquires new
enemies. Cole is in London as well, but Anna’s relationship with him
quickly becomes strained. I didn’t like the direction their relationship
took in this book, because it felt too typical of a second book, but I
liked almost everything else. These books are very clean even though
there are a lot of potentially frightening scenes.

If you are looking for a well written, clean YA novel with black magic
and suspense, give this series a try. The only caveat is that you need
to read the novella, Born of Corruption in between books 1 and 2 since Born of
Deception refers to it quite a bit and you might be confused if you don’t
read it.

Content: Some violence/scary scenes, but I consider it clean.

Source: I received a digital galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.

4 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: