YA Review: Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

Uncategorized

Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

Age Range: 12 and up

Series: None

Genre: Contemporary

Paperback: 304 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen (April 22, 2014)

Source: Little Bird Publicity for review

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book:

Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, Don’t Call Me Baby
is a sharply observed and charming story about mothers and daughters,
best friends and first crushes, and our online selves and the truth you
can only see in real life.

All her life, Imogene has been known as the girl on that blog.

Imogene’s
mother has been writing an incredibly embarrassing, and incredibly
popular, blog about her since before she was born. The thing is, Imogene
is fifteen now, and her mother is still blogging about her. In
gruesome detail. When a mandatory school project compels Imogene to
start her own blog, Imogene is reluctant to expose even more of her life
online . . . until she realizes that the project is the opportunity
she’s been waiting for to define herself for the first time.

About Gwendolyn Heasley:

My
family is from New York, but we moved to Minnesota when I was four. I
loved growing up the frozen tundra (using the word “pop” and eating
“bars). I attended the same school (in the same building) for fourteen
years before heading south to warmer weather at Davidson College in
Davidson, North Carolina. There, I grew to love southerners, hush
puppies, and NASCAR. I did this all while studying English.
After
writing and then peddling greeting cards for a year, I went back to the
Midwest for a graduate degree in Journalism at the University of
Missouri-Columbia. I grew to love the small college town, the Mizzou
Tigers, and spending weekends in the library.

In my Devil Wears
Prada moment, I moved to NYC to get my start in journalism. This is what
happened instead: the recession hit, I couldn’t find a paying job, and I
had to live with my parents. It was then that I wrote Where I Belong,
which is about the recession.

A Long Way From You is the companion novel to Where I Belong and The Art of Goodbye is a digital sequel.

Don’t Call Me Baby is my most recent novel.

I
now live in Naples, Florida with my husband and baby daughter Arrietty,
who is named after the main character in The Borrowers.

My Thoughts on Don’t Call Me Baby:

Ah blogging. Gotta love it, gotta hate it. The internet has definitely
changed our society, and this book is a great example of how people (not
just teens) can get sucked into their virtual worlds until they are
living more online than they are offline. The book deals with an over
sharing mother and the complications in the family unit that come from
that, but it doesn’t deal with the dangers that come from over sharing (like stalkers).
The book is mostly about how Imogene’s mother’s blog, while started for a good reason,
has become a wedge driving mother and daughter apart.

It’s a quick read, and things move pretty fast. I wish that some parts
had been more developed, but overall, it was a very cute book that’s
perfect for an afternoon on the beach or in the backyard.

The cover: I like this cover, but it’s a little deceptive. It looks like
a romance novel, especially with the title being what it is. There is a
tiny sprinkling of romance in the book, but it’s very low key. It’s
mostly about Imogene and her relationships with her mom and best friend.

Content: Mostly clean. There were 2 cuss words that I can remember, and
Imogene wears a bikini to a pool party to try and catch the attention of
the guy she likes (I have a major rant about things like that, but this
book was very clean, so I’ll forgo the rant).

Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

4 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: