Review: Platypus Police Squad, The Frog Who Croaked by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Uncategorized

I’m excited to introduce this series to you today. My daughter loves these platypus detectives! If you have kids, you’ve probably heard of this author before. He wrote The Lunch Lady series that’s been really popular.  If you haven’t started this series yet, you can get this book for your Kindle for $1.99 for a limited time.

About the Book:

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Age Range: 8 – 12 years

Grade Level: 3 – 7

Series: Platypus Police Squad #1

Hardcover: 240 pages

Publisher: Walden Pond Press; 1ST edition (May 7, 2013)

Genre: Mystery/Animals

Source: Bought

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a
series of zany, action-packed middle-grade mysteries featuring platypus
police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.

When a call
comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing
schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley
are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want
to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to
Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo’s first son and its most powerful,
well-respected businessman.

Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and
Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for
Jarrett’s new series of illustrated middle-grade novels.

My Thoughts:

I read this book out loud to my kids. We read a couple of chapters each
night, and my oldest (6) always begged for more. She even has a PPS
poster above her bed.

In truth, I expected this book to be funny. Call me crazy, but when you
stick a weird looking animal into a police uniform and arm him with a
boomerang, I expect a few jokes along the way. The book wasn’t funny—at least, not in a laugh out loud kind of way. I
was disappointed with that at first, but that feeling soon ebbed away.
It was a legitimate detective mystery for kids! It was like a Law and
Order episode starring platypuses and pandas.  It was a real police
drama, complete with a missing professor, an illegal fish selling
scandal, and some intense chase-down-the-bad-guy scenes. When we got to
the last 50 pages or so, my kids wouldn’t let me stop reading even
though it was WAY past their bedtime. So we finished it off, then
analyzed all the characters and discussed who did what and who the bad
guy really was and what might happen in book 2.

So as you can see, it’s not a bad thing that the book wasn’t funny.
My kids loved it, I liked it, and we all plan on diving into the second
book tomorrow.

On a side note, the author also illustrated oodles of black and white pictures for the interior.  His artwork is fantastic and gives the book a little something extra.

Content: Clean

4 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: