Review of Royally Lost by Angie Stanton

Uncategorized

Royally Lost by Angie Stanton

Age Range: 12 and up

Series: None

Genre: Contemporary YA romance

Paperback: 336 pages
 
Publisher: HarperTeen (May 6, 2014)

Source: Edelweiss

My Rating: 3 of 5 stars

About the Book:

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Susane
Colasanti, and Jenny Han, Angie Stanton’s brand-new romance asks the
question, What would it be like to fall in love with a prince?

Dragged
on a family trip to Europe, Becca wants nothing more than to go home.
Trapped with her emotionally distant father, overeager stepmother, and a
brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is
miserable. Until she meets Nikolai.

Nikolai has everything—he’s a
crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing
he doesn’t have is freedom . . . so he flees his kingdom and goes on
his own European trip.
And when Nikolai and Becca meet, sparks
fly. But Becca’s family vacation ends in a matter of days.

Will Nikolai
and Becca be forced to say good-bye, or will they change history
forever?

Daily Boutique Deals

My Thoughts:

I wavered between 2 and 3 stars on this book.  I didn’t like it nearly
as much as I hoped to. The cover and synopsis promised light, romantic
fun while getting lost in the streets of Europe. While that much held somewhat true, it wasn’t nearly as cute and fun as I had anticipated.

For starters, I didn’t like the characters. Becca, Nikolai, and Dylan
all came off as immature, spoiled children that constantly lied to and
manipulated their parents. They had complete disregard for anyone or
anything other than their own interests. Also, much of the writing felt
too obvious. I was told, rather than shown, what was going
on and what the characters experienced. The last big downer *SPOILER ALERT* for me was
that no one actually got lost. The book is called Royally Lost, so I
expected Becca and Nikolai to get lost together in Europe. They didn’t. *END SPOILER ALERT*

On the plus side, this is one of the cleaner young adult books I’ve seen
in a while. There is some innuendo, but no sex. Some language, but no
f-words, and no violence. I can’t begin to say how much I appreciate a
clean(er) YA book.  They are far too rare.

The book had good parts, happy parts, and parts where I got lost in the
story. It’s a quick read, too. Ultimately, I would say that if you are
looking for something mostly clean, a little cheesy, and don’t mind
large doses of teenage angst, give this book a shot.

Content: Innuendo and language, but mostly clean.

 

 3 STARS


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Previous Story
Next Story

4 Comments

  • Reply
    Born Bookish
    April 29, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    Oh bummer! This was one of my most anticipated Summer reads. Sounds really disappointing =( If I don't like the main characters it's pretty much guaranteed I won't enjoy the book. I'm still gonna give it a shot but my expectations will definitely be a lot lower. Thanks for sharing your honest thoughts!

    Amanda @ Born Bookish

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      April 30, 2014 at 12:36 am

      It was a disapointment, that's for sure. It was still cute and mostly clean, but it isn't something I would read again.

  • Reply
    Adriana Garcia
    May 2, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    I feel like most teenagers wouldn't have any regard for their parents when they find someone they believe they truly love.

    The spoiler you mentioned — maybe it means lost as a person (the prince might not know who he is without the crown) not lost location wise.

    At least it was light and fun… to a certain extent. I'd probably get in the library if I'm feeling like a romance book one day.

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      May 2, 2014 at 11:40 pm

      I hadn't thought of being lost in that way, but you might be right. I think you are also right about the kids not having any regard for their parents. I think sometimes I expect too much out of the characters in books.

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: