Young Adult Review: Obsisidan Mirror by Catherine Fisher

Uncategorized

Obsisidan Mirror by Catherine Fisher

Age Range: 12 and up
 
Grade Level: 7 and up
 
Series: Obsidian Mirror
 
Hardcover: 384 pages
 
Publisher: Dial (April 23, 2013)

Genre: Fantasy/Time travel

Source: ARC Cycling

My Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

About the Book:

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost
in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future
annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror
is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from
the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at
all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to
find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery
world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is
the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre,
Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and
Blade Runner won’t be disappointed.

My Thoughts:

My husband accuses me of hiding. He’s right. I place books all around
the house in weird places so that I can hide when I need a break. I will
sit in my closet with the door shut and read because no one thinks to
look for me in the closet. I have what I call “hiding spot books”. Obsidian
Mirror
started out as a hiding spot book, but it didn’t end up as one.

The problem with hiding spot books is that they take longer to read than
books out in the open because you can’t hide for more than a couple
minutes. This is not the kind of book I could read a bit at a time. I
found myself hiding for far too long as I dashed through the pages.

The story is bone chilling. It’s haunting and mysterious. A melding of
fantasy and time travel that you can’t walk away from. The characters
are troubled – each trying to get to the mirror for their own reasons.
But the mirror is not so easy to use. It doesn’t work the way anyone
expects, and the results are catastrophic.

I can’t wait to read the next installment!

Content: Some violence, but I consider it clean.

Daily Boutique Deals

 
4.5 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

3 Comments

  • Reply
    Born Bookish
    March 11, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    I love time travel stories and was intrigued until I saw the word faery. For some reason I just don't like faery books. I've never read one I liked.

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      March 13, 2014 at 2:18 am

      The faeries don't play a huge part in the book, but I think that will change as the series progresses. I know what you mean, though. I get turned off by the word "zombie". It doesn't matter how amazing the book is, once I see anything about walking dead people, I'm out.

  • Reply
    Alyn Yang
    March 17, 2014 at 2:39 am

    Sounds great! I added it to my TBR list.

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: