halloween skull shirts for girls

Young Adult Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Uncategorized

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Age Range: 12 and up
 
Grade Level: 7 and up
 
Paperback: 375 pages
 
Publisher: Delacorte Press; Reprint edition (August 24, 2010)

Series: The Maze Runner #1

Genre: Science Fiction

Source: Library

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

About the Book:

Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner
motion picture starring Dylan O’Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie
Sangster, Will Poulter, and Aml Ameen hits theaters September 19, 2014!

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his
name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a
limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever
made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
 
Remember. Survive. Run.

Praise:

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” —Seventeen.com

“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly

“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews

“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times

“Gripping reading.” Booklist

 

About the Author:

James Dashner is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series as well as the books in the 13th Reality series and The Infinity Ring. He is also the author of The Eye of Minds,
the first book in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and
raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To
learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com or follow
@jamesdashner on Twitter.


My Thoughts:

It’s a good thing I didn’t
read this series as it came out because I would have gone crazy waiting
for the next book.

I read the final chapters while I was cooking dinner. I burned the
pork chops. I’m not allowed to read while cooking anymore.

Multitasking incompetence aside, I really liked this book. Typical of this genre, it was violent and disturbing, for which I loved and hated the
author all the way through. I couldn’t put the book down. It was
gripping, exciting, and crazy. I loved that I had no idea what would
happen next or where the story was headed.

The Maze Runner reminded me a lot of Lord of the Flies, but obviously it was quite different and unique in its own way.  I keep insisting that I don’t like science fiction, but it turns out
that I’m a fat liar. This book was fantastic. I loved the characters,
the Maze, and the puzzle that the kids have to solve. It was horrible
and brilliant at the same time. It’s definitely worth the read.

4.5 STARS

Previous Story
Next Story

8 Comments

  • Reply
    Tressa S
    March 6, 2014 at 12:17 am

    I have this one and the second book on my shelves. I need to read them! I know the third book is out now too, so I'll read them all together. Lol! Love that you can no longer cook and read. I tend to do that when I'm cooking waffles and trying to read. 😉 Thanks for the review, Dena!

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      March 6, 2014 at 7:14 pm

      You should read them! I am going to try and squeeze the two other books in sometime.

      In a way, it's a good thing I'm not allowed to cook and read anymore. We just bought this house 6 months ago and I would hate to burn it down!

  • Reply
    Alyn Yang
    March 6, 2014 at 5:57 am

    I really liked this book but I'm not sure if I will finish the series or not. I heard the last book is a big let down.

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      March 6, 2014 at 7:16 pm

      Oh really? I haven't heard that. I try not to read too many reviews before I read a book because I like to go in without any expectations. I rarely even read the blurbs on the back cover!

      I am planning on reading the other two. You never know until you try, right?

  • Reply
    swlothian.com
    March 6, 2014 at 11:44 am

    I love your review, and I love this book. I need to get onto book 2 soon. If you're interested, I have a recent review on my blog for this book as well. I had the same recollection of Lord of the Flies.

  • Reply
    Born Bookish
    March 6, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    I started this once a few years ago and couldn't get past all the slang. I do want to try it again before the movie comes out though. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series! =)

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      March 7, 2014 at 3:41 am

      The slang was definitely weird in the beginning, but you get used to it after a couple of chapters.

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: