Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Uncategorized

Author: 


April Genevieve Tucholke

Age Range: 15 and up

Hardcover: 368 pages

Publisher: Dial (August 15, 2013)

Series: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea #1

Genre: Thriller/Romance

Source: Library

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the Book:

You stop fearing the Devil when you’re holding his hand…

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside
town…until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind
Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen,
Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River
just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or
could he be something more? Violet’s grandmother always warned her about
the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes
naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery…who
makes you want to kiss back. Violet’s already so knee-deep in love, she
can’t see straight. And that’s just how River likes it.

A gothic
thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald,
set against a creepy summertime backdrop–a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble

About the Author:

 April Genevieve Tucholke digs classic movies, red-headed villains, big kitchens, and discussing murder at the dinner table. She and her husband Nate Pedersen live in Oregon at the edge of a forest.


Website 

My Thoughts:

Well, this was different. It’s nothing like any book I’ve ever read. I
can’t decide what to think. I was so excited to read this book that I
even made up a theme song for it. Curious? Here it is:

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
I want River to come kiss me.
Little Violet how can’t you see
That he’s nothing but plain crazy?

That is the extent of my song writing skills there, folks. Anyway, the
book is gorgeously written and extremely gripping. I made it two-thirds
of the way through and I would have read the entire thing in one night,
but my husband woke up and told me that I should consider getting some
sleep. Once I put the book down, I couldn’t bring myself to pick it back
up.  Okay that’s a lie.  I did pick it back up and made it most of the way through before I had to quit again.

Now I’m going to just own up to the fact that I am a mega weenie. Always
have been and always will be. Things that bother me tend to stick with
me for a long time. Books like this have the tendency to weave their way
into my imagination and take root, causing me to dwell on them for days
or weeks at a time. So for the sake of my precious shut eye time, I
made the executive decision not to pick the book back up (again).

But please don’t misunderstand. The book is an incredible juggling act
of crazy, creepy, beauty, manipulation, murder, and first love. The
story is gripping, the characters are interesting, and the writing is to
die for. I think that M. Night Shyamalan should team up with Ms.
Tucholke to make this book into the best thriller movie ever. A movie
that I would never see because I am such a wimp.

This book is definitely for older teens. There are lots of minor curse
words, heated kissing, and very disturbing scenes. If you like having
your skin crawl and things that go bump in the night, this book is for
you.

 

Previous Story
Next Story

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: