halloween skull shirts for girls

Middle Grade Review: Wednesdays in the Tower

Uncategorized

Wednesdays in the Tower by Jessica Day George

Age Range: 8 and up

Hardcover: 240 pages 

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens; 1 edition (May 7, 2013)

Series: Castle Glower #2

Genre: Fantasy

Source: Publisher via NetGally (thank you!)

Rating: 5 of 5 stars

About the Book:

A moving castle, and the children sworn to defend it . . . The wait
is over for this highly-anticipated sequel to the runaway hit Tuesdays at the Castle.

A
castle that is constantly rearranging itself, and a young royal family
sworn to protect it . . . Celie, Rolf, and their beloved Castle Glower
are back in this exciting sequel.

When her brother Rolf dares her to
catch magical Castle Glower creating a new room, Princess Celie takes
the challenge! No one knows the Castle better than she does. But as
usual, the Castle has ideas of its own.Celie finds the new room first,
and inside it is hidden a giant egg. It looks like The Castle wants
Celie to care for the egg and whatever creature it hatches! Celie hadn’t
bargained for a pet, and caring for this one will prove to be
especially tricky, once Celie and her siblings realize what else the
Castle is hiding…


About the Author:

Jessica Day George likes
chocolate, knitting, books, travel, movies, dragons, horses, dogs, and
her family. These are all things to keep in mind if you ever meet her.
For instance, you could bring her chocolate to make the meeting go more
smoothly. You could also talk about how adorable her children are,
even if you have never seen them. You could discuss dog breeds (she has
a Maltese named Pippin, and grew up with a poodle mix and a Brittany
Spaniel). You could talk about Norway, and how it’s the Greatest Place
On Earth, and Germany, The Second Greatest Place On Earth. You could
ask her about yarn, and indicate a willingness to learn to knit your own
socks, if you can’t already do so.

And, well, you could talk
about books. Jessica’s books, other people’s books. It’s really all
about the books. To paraphrase Jerry Seinfeld, Friends, family, school,
they were just obstacles in the way of getting more books.

She would like it if books came with chocolate to eat while reading them.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

My Thoughts:

Once again, Jessica Day George knocked it out of the middle-grade ball
park! I loved it! I can’t wait to see what she comes up with for the
next book. This is the perfect series for fans of Fablehaven and Harry
Potter.

The castle is such a fun setting. It has so much
personality and I want to live there.  The characters are delightful in
this story. I was so happy to see more of Pogue in this book. I really
like him and the way he conveniently weasels his way into being
indispensable to the royal family.

Again, I was really struck by what a great role model Celie is for young
girls. She is a very believable character, and I love the way she is
independent and smart.

I really really love this series.

Content: clean

 


Previous Story
Next Story

4 Comments

  • Reply
    Amy
    June 25, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    I've been meaning to read "Tuesdays at the Castle" for a long time now, and I guess I should really make that a priority since this one is out already!

  • Reply
    Tressa S
    July 9, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    I've really got to read both books in the series! I love Jessica Day George and I could probably even read this with my kids. I'm glad you liked it! 🙂

    Tressa @ Tressa's Wishful Endings

    • Reply
      reviewkidsbooks@gmail.com
      July 9, 2013 at 11:44 pm

      You could totally read these with your kids. It's a great book for the whole family. You'll love it!

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: