Genuine Fraud will Blow Your Mind (A Few Times)

Book Review, Grown Up Books, Young Adult Books
Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart blew my mind. A few times. A twisty YA mystery novel for teens and adults that like creepy books, lots of thrills, and plenty of spine-tingling chills. | Young adult books for adults | YA mystery book | Best YA books of 2017. | batchofbooks.com

Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

Age Range: 14+ | Hardcover: 288 pages | Publisher: Delacorte Press (September 5, 2017)

*This blog post contains affiliate links.

 

Genuine Fraud Just Blew My Mind

What on earth did I just read?

I read most of Genuine Fraud thinking I knew precisely how everything went down, and in the last couple of pages…BAM! Turns out, I know nothing at all.

First off, let me say how much I adored this book. I liked it almost as much as crunchy peanut butter. It was twisted and creepy and disturbing and oh-so-deliciously disorienting.

Plus, check out the gorgeous ARC I got from the publisher. I completely geeked out over it!

Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart blew my mind. A few times. A twisty YA mystery novel for teens and adults that like creepy books, lots of thrills, and plenty of spine-tingling chills. | Young adult books for adults | YA mystery book | Best YA books of 2017. | batchofbooks.com

Daily Boutique Deals

Genuine Fraud is written in reverse order. So you start at the end and work your way backward through the story. I was riveted as I watched Jule’s transformation again and again, as well as her overall change.

There were a couple major twists that I didn’t see coming at all. They took me completely by surprise.

It’s definitely one of those love-it or hate-it books. You’ll either be blown away like I was, or you’ll wonder what all the fuss is about.

All this being said, I think it’s important to know that while Genuine Fraud is technically a young adult book, it’s more for older teens and adults. It’s far more New Adult than Young Adult. Jule is eighteen and has spent at least a year out of high school. The other characters in the book are all the same age or older than Jule, and the only high school-age kids in the story are viewed in a condescending light that’s common among post high-school teens.

Regardless, this was one bang-up book. It blew my mind several times over. The characters are something else. They’re sweet and coy and rough and secretive and violent and the types of girls you wouldn’t want to get messed up with.

I read it on a road trip with my family and I kept gasping and yelling at my husband, “You’ll never believe what happened now!”

Being the good natured guy my hubs is, he just smiled and nodded and pretended to listen.

Genuine Fraud will appeal to fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl.

Content: Cursing (including f-bombs) and two semi-detailed murders.

Source: I received an ARC from the publisher.

 

Find the Book

Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

 

Other Books Mentioned in This Post

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart #YA | batchofbooks.com  Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

 

Want More Book Recommendations?
Browse for book recommendations by age using the “Books by Age” tab in the top navigation bar. Then, sign up for my weekly-ish newsletter to stay up to date on new giveaways, author interviews, book lists, and other awesomeness! Sign up now.